Regulatory Science and Policy Subcommittee

The AACR established the Regulatory Science and Policy Subcommittee in March of 2011 to support the FDA’s endeavor to modernize the regulatory process and accommodate the fast pace of innovation in science and technology. The subcommittee leads AACR’s efforts to facilitate scientific exchange among stakeholders from academia, industry, advocacy, and government to unleash the true potential of regulatory science to serve patients. In order for the latest research to inform regulators, regulatory guidelines and regulatory policy, regulators must keep abreast with developments in cancer research. Scientists also benefit from an understanding of the regulatory process, which can facilitate their own research programs and speed the translation of discoveries into new and improved interventions.

The subcommittee is dedicated to bringing together and providing an open forum for stakeholder engagement. It is also actively engaged in the development and implementation of programmatic and policy initiatives to improve the development, evaluation and regulation of cancer drugs, biologics and diagnostics.

Signature initiatives of the subcommittee include:


Subcommittee Members     

Frank P. McCormick, PhD, FRS, Dsc (hon)
Professor Emeritus, UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, David A. Wood Distinguished Professor of Tumor Biology and Cancer Research and Co-leader of the National RAS Program
San Francisco, CA

Kenneth C. Anderson, MD
Program Director and Chief, Division of Hematologic Neoplasia
Kraft Family Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA    

Renzo Canetta, MD
Vice President,
Global R&D Oncology Policy
Bristol-Myers Squibb
Wallingford, CT
William S. Dalton, PhD, MD
Founder and Chief Executive Officer
Tampa, FL

Ethan Dmitrovsky, MD
Provost and Executive Vice President
The University of Texas
MD Anderson Cancer Center Houston, TX

Raymond N. DuBois, MD, PhD
Executive Director and Professor
The Biodesign Institute
Arizona State University
Tempe, AZ

Judy E. Garber, MD
Center for Cancer Genetics and Prevention
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

Richard B. Gaynor, MD
Vice President
Clinical Development and Medical Affairs
Oncology Business Unit
Eli Lilly and Company
Indianapolis, IN

Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD
Chief of Medical Oncology and Director
Thoracic Oncology Research Program
Yale Comprehensive Cancer Center, Yale School of Medicine
New Haven, CT                                                          

Sandra J. Horning, MD
Executive Vice President
Global Development and Chief Medical Officer
F. Hoffmann-LaRoche, Ltd.
South San Francisco, CA

Perry D. Nisen, M.D., PhD
Senior Vice President
Research and Development
GlaxoSmithKline Oncology
Collegeville, PA

Gilbert S. Omenn, MD, PhD
Internal Medicine, Human Genetics, and Public Health
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI

David R. Parkinson, MD
Venture Partner
New Enterprise Associates
South San Francisco, CA

Mace L. Rothenberg, MD
Senior Vice President
Clinical Development and Medical Affairs
Pfizer Oncology
La Jolla, CA

David M. Reese, MD
Vice President
Medical Sciences
Amgen Inc.
Los Angeles, CA
Eric H. Rubin, MD
Vice President
Oncology Clinical Research
Merck Research Laboratories
North Wales, PA

Jason A. Sager, MD
Head of Early Development
Oncology Portfolio
Cambridge, MA

Laura K. Shawver, MD
The Clarity Foundation
La Jolla, CA

Peter G. Shields, MD
Deputy Director
Comprehensive Cancer Center
Professor, College of Medicine
The Ohio State University Medical Center
Columbus, OH

Ellen V. Sigal, PhD

Chairperson and Founder
Friends of Cancer Research
Washington, D.C.

Suzanne L. Topalian, MD
Surgery and Oncology, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Director, Melanoma Program
Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center
Baltimore, MD

Laura J. van 't Veer, PhD
Breast Oncology Program and Director, Applied Genomics
UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
San Francisco, CA

Eric P. Winer, MD
Breast Oncology Center
Department of Medical Oncology
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA


AACR Staff Contact

Rasika Kalamegham, PhD, Director of Regulatory Science and Policy

AACR Office of Science Policy and Government Affairs
Email or call (202) 898-6499